Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award

Nominations are now open for the 2023 Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award. Click here to nominate a member today!

About the Award

In 1950, a group of 13 women signed a charter forming what is now the oldest continuous women’s professional sports league, the LPGA Tour.

In 1991, Nancy Oliver brought together 28 women for a golf clinic as the starting point of the Executive Women’s Golf Association, which became the LPGA Amateur Golf Association® in 2018. In 2019, the Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award was created, celebrating the Nancy Oliver’s contribution toward women’s golf and recognizing the first steps of those brave 13 LPGA Founders.

The Nancy Oliver Act Like a Founder Award recognizes LPGA Amateur Golf Association® members who:
  • Display exceptional long-term volunteer leadership and service to the LPGA Amateur Golf Association®
  • Exemplify the passion, spirit and mission of the LPGA Amateurs by enriching women’s lives through the game of golf
  • Advocate for the local LPGA Amateurs Chapter and association as a whole
  • Positively engage with LPGA Amateurs members and the local community
  • Inspire and develop new leaders
  • Desire to leave the Chapter and the LPGA Amateur Golf Association® better than they found it
Eligibility Requirements:

All LPGA Amateurs members in good standing may nominate qualified candidates. Nominees must have a minimum of 5 cumulative years of volunteer service and must be a current member in good standing (nominees do not need to be a current leader).

Donna Shaw, 2022 Recipient

2022 Recipient – Donna Shaw 

Donna Shaw of the Tucson, AZ Chapter is the recipient of the 2022 Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award.  Donna has been a member of the Tucson Chapter since 1995 and throughout 27 years, Donna has stayed active with various leadership positions and has continued to provide opportunities to support new golfers. Linda Stratton, Tucson Chapter President stated, “Donna’s commitment to the work of LPGA Amateurs to support and encourage and celebrate women golfers is unparalleled. In 2005 as she was undergoing chemotherapy to fight breast cancer, Donna served as the Volunteer Chairperson of the 2005 Annual Conference.”


2022 Honorable Mentions

Terry Applegate, Nashville Chapter; Ingrid Brase, Central New Jersey Chapter; Beverly Hill, Greater Toronto Area Chapter; Alice Hoctor, San Francisco Bay Area, Cincinnati, Louisville Chapter; Diane Peterson, Central New Jersey, Philadelphia Area Chapters: Yvonne Phillis, Louisville Chapter; Maria Price Detherage, Southern Maryland Chapter; Cathy Wright, San Diego Chapter


Sylvia Sumners, 2021 Recipient

Sylvia Sumners,
2021 Recipient

2021 Recipient – Sylvia Sumners

Sylvia Sumners of the Birmingham, AL Chapter is the recipient of the 2021 Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award. Read more about Sylvia Sumners here!


2021 Honorable Mentions

BJ Hansen                              Donna Beland                       Luanna Andrews
Salt Lake City, UT                Central New Jersey               Rochester Region, NY

Cathy Bregar                          Linda Boyer                          Stephanie Mumford Brown
Columbus, OH                      Westchester, NY                    Capital Region, NY

Chris Shorkey                         Lorraine Silverman
San Diego, CA                        Asheville Area, NC


Judy Johnson-Schoellkopf and Nancy Oliver

Judy Johnson-Schoellkopf & Nancy Oliver

2019  Recipient – Judy Johnson-Schoellkopf

Judy Johnson-Schoellkopf has been named winner of the 2019 Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award. Johnson-Schoellkopf’s volunteer history with the organization goes back to 1996, as a founding chapter member and membership chair of the LPGA Amateurs Eastern Shore, MD/DE Chapter. She is a four-time president and four-time vice president, and has also served as membership recruitment director, golf event chair, social event chair, volunteer recognition chair and board advisor. The full press release can be found at the following link:

Feb. 5 2020 – Judy Johnson-Schoellkopf Named 2019 Nancy Oliver – Act Like a Founder Award Winner

2019  Honorable Mentions

Ann Mackey, BJ Hansen, Bonnie Fannin, Bree Hartlage, Carol Owens, Cathy Bregar, Cecilia (Cece) Peabody, Celeste Methot, Diane Peterson, Diane Volkert, Donna Beland, Elizabeth (Lib) Northen, Gale Wallmark, Hilary Tuohy, Janis Luce, Jeanne Biggerstaff, Joan C. Cavanaugh, Joan DeSalvo-Mansour, Judy Johnson-Schoellkopf, Karen “Kiki” Leedy, Karen Caume, Karen Ramsey, Kate Collins, Kerstin Koenig, Linda Boyer, Linda Kueny, Margaret E. Downey, Maureen Mahoney, Michelle Florea, Missie Berteotti, MJ Smith, Mourine (Mo) White, Nancy Adair, Pam Katros, Patrice Franco, Paulette Pilsner, Sharon Durling, Shirley Brown, Susan Macina, Susan Penn, Sylvia Sumners, Tammy Curtis, Theresa Stamey, Zoe Dommel